Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Karnataka Assembly Elections 2023: Polls, Parties, Key Constituencies

Untitled design 2023 05 09T121444.472

Karnataka, the southern state known for its IT hub Bengaluru, is gearing up for Assembly elections. The election is crucial for all three major parties- the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the Congress, and the Janata Dal (Secular) (JD(S)).

The JD(S) is led by former Prime Minister H D Deve Gowda, who is putting all his might into campaigning, hoping to emerge as the “king” rather than the “kingmaker” and to form a government on its own. Meanwhile, the BJP has focused on holding a large number of public meetings and roadshows with its national and state leaders. The Congress, which wants to revive its electoral fortunes, has set its sights on wresting power from the BJP and strengthening its credentials as the main opposition player against the BJP ahead of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections.

The JD(S) has been campaigning on a five-fold program called ‘Pancharatna,’ which includes quality education, healthcare, housing, farmer welfare, and employment. The party hopes to implement these programs if it comes to power.

Karnataka assembly elections: JD(S) plans to field record number of Muslims | Bengaluru News - Times of India

JD(S) – Times Of India

The state of Karnataka has over 5.24 crore voters, with over 5.60 lakh identified as persons with disabilities. There will be 58,282 polling stations set up across the state, and 1,320 of them will be managed by women officials.

The Lingayats, a politically dominant community, are said to be a dominant force in about 100 seats. In the outgoing assembly, there are 54 Lingayat MLAs across parties, including 37 from the ruling BJP. Among the 23 chief ministers from the state since 1952, as many as 10 have been Lingayats.

Congress win in Karnataka will highlight BJP's efforts to distort Constitution: Mallikarjun Kharge - The Hindu

Congress hopefull of their chances in the 2023 Karnataka Assembly elections. Credits – The Hindu

Several key constituencies will play a crucial role in the outcome of the elections. Kanakpura, which comes under Bengaluru (Rural) Lok Sabha seat, is the home turf of Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC) president and Vokkaliga strongman DK Shivakumar. Shiggaon is the constituency where the incumbent Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai is contesting. The BJP has fielded party veteran and former Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa’s son BY Vijayendra from the Shikaripura constituency in Shivamogga.

The results of the elections will be closely watched, as they will have implications for the upcoming assembly elections in other states and the 2024 Lok Sabha elections.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


A video showing a baby with redness and cracks has gone viral, naming it ‘alien baby’ and ‘demon child’. The video claims that the...

National News

The CBI conducted investigations at 77 locations spanning 14 states, detaining ten suspects as part of a massive crackdown on online child sex abuse....


The much-awaited Khakee: The Bihar Chapter was released on Netflix on November 25 and since then Chandan Mahto, who is the main antagonist in...


Twenty days after its release, Rishabh Shetty’s ‘Kanatara’ continues to be the first choice for moviegoers. After a thundering response to the Kannada version,...