Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Politics News

Congress Secures Three Rajya Sabha Seats In Karnataka, BJP Faces Setback

Untitled design 2024 02 28T131341.540

Congress emerged victorious in the Rajya Sabha elections in Karnataka, clinching three seats, while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) managed to secure only one seat. The BJP’s setback came as one of its MLAs cross-voted in favor of Congress, signaling a shift in political dynamics within the southern state.

Full Story: 

Congress candidates Ajay Maken, Nasser Hussain, and GC Chandrashekar secured 47, 47, and 45 votes, respectively, earning them the opportunity to represent the party in the Rajya Sabha. On the other hand, Narayanasa Bhandage from the BJP was the lone candidate elected to the Upper House.

The BJP’s setback was amplified as its MLA ST Somashekar voted for Congress candidate Ajay Maken, while another MLA, Arbail Shivaram Hebbar, chose to abstain from voting. Both Somashekar and Hebbar, who had switched allegiance from the Congress to the BJP in 2019, had been expressing dissatisfaction with the party leadership and were observed aligning themselves with Congress in recent months.

In Karnataka, ruling Congress secures 3, BJP fails to win second Rajya  Sabha seat | Latest News India -

Source: Hindustan Times

Karnataka Deputy Chief Minister DK Shivakumar commented on the results, emphasizing the unity and integrity of the Congress. He expressed gratitude towards the MLAs, party workers, and the media, noting the success of all Congress candidates. The high voter turnout, with 99.5 percent of the 223 voters exercising their franchise, highlighted the significance of the Rajya Sabha elections in the state.

The rebel BJP leader, ST Somashekar, explained his vote by stating that he followed his conscience, supporting those who had worked towards building schools and carrying out development activities in his constituency. This move by Somashekar and Hebbar, who represent Yeshwantpur and Yellapur constituencies respectively, indicated a growing proximity with the Congress, marking a departure from their earlier alignment with the BJP.

Rajya Sabha elections: Congress wins three seats, BJP bags one in Karnataka

Source: DH

The voting process saw five candidates competing for the four available seats, with JD(S) contestant D Kupendra Reddy also in the fray. The defection of Somashekar and Hebbar, who had previously switched allegiance from Congress to BJP along with 15 others in 2019, played a pivotal role in the collapse of the 14-month-old coalition government of Congress and JD(S).

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


A video showing a baby with redness and cracks has gone viral, naming it ‘alien baby’ and ‘demon child’. The video claims that the...

National News

The CBI conducted investigations at 77 locations spanning 14 states, detaining ten suspects as part of a massive crackdown on online child sex abuse....


The much-awaited Khakee: The Bihar Chapter was released on Netflix on November 25 and since then Chandan Mahto, who is the main antagonist in...


Twenty days after its release, Rishabh Shetty’s ‘Kanatara’ continues to be the first choice for moviegoers. After a thundering response to the Kannada version,...