Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Why Did Madhavan Replace Shekhar Kapur As The New President Of FTII


Renowned actor R Madhavan has been appointed as the President of the FTII Society and simultaneously assumes the role of Chairperson of the Governing Council. This development follows the conclusion of the tenure of the previous President and Director, Shekhar Kapur, which concluded on March 3, 2023.

In a significant announcement made on September 1st, the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting (MIB) unveiled the new leadership for the Film and Television Institute of India (FTII).


Source: Short Post

About Film and Television Institute of India: 

The Film and Television Institute of India (FTII) is a top film school in Pune, India. It was started by the Indian government in 1960. At FTII, students can learn various aspects of making films and TV shows, like directing, filming, editing, sound, and more. It’s a popular place for people who want to become filmmakers or work in the TV and film industry. FTII has a great reputation for training talent in India’s entertainment world.


Source: The Quint

Spotlight on R Madhavan

Madhavan is a well-known actor who has appeared in hit movies like ‘3 Idiots,’ ‘Tanu Weds Manu,’ and ‘Rang De Basanti.’ He recently took on the role of a director in his debut film, ‘Rocketry: The Nambi Effect,’ which gained a lot of praise and won the Best Feature Film Award at the 69th National Awards. It’s worth noting that Madhavan not only acted in the film but also co-wrote it with Anant Mahadevan and Rahul Pandey. His appointment as the President of the Film and Television Institute of India (FTII) Society and Chairperson of the Governing Council comes after the significant success of his film, particularly its national recognition.


Source: Newsdrum

FTII Society: A Closer Look

The FTII Society is guided by the FTII Chairperson and is composed of 12 members. Out of these, eight are chosen as ‘Persons of Eminence,’ and the remaining four are FTII alumni. Usually, the Ministry selects these members while appointing the institute’s Chairperson. However, it’s noteworthy that this tradition was changed when actor Anupam Kher was appointed in October 2017.

In the case of R Madhavan‘s appointment, it seems that the nominations for other members have not been revealed. This indicates a similar departure from the usual process. Once there are 24 members, which includes 12 ex-officio members, various councils like the Governing Council, Academic Council, and Standing Finance Committee are formed from these members. These councils play a crucial role in deciding how the institute is run, its academic activities, and financial matters.

Also Read:

R Madhavan: The Latest Celebrity To Weigh In On The Hindi Vs South Indian Films Debate, Says These Comparisons Are Futile.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


A video showing a baby with redness and cracks has gone viral, naming it ‘alien baby’ and ‘demon child’. The video claims that the...

National News

The CBI conducted investigations at 77 locations spanning 14 states, detaining ten suspects as part of a massive crackdown on online child sex abuse....


The much-awaited Khakee: The Bihar Chapter was released on Netflix on November 25 and since then Chandan Mahto, who is the main antagonist in...


Twenty days after its release, Rishabh Shetty’s ‘Kanatara’ continues to be the first choice for moviegoers. After a thundering response to the Kannada version,...