Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Late Night Fiasco In Jayanagar Ends With BJP’s Last-Minute Victory

Untitled design 2023 05 14T105356.833

In a closely contested election, Congress’ Sowmya Reddy faced a narrow defeat by a mere 16 votes against the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the Jayanagar constituency in the state of Karnataka, India. The results were announced in the early hours of May 14, following a late night fiasco.


According to a report by The Hindu, Sowmya Reddy was initially declared the winner of the constituency after the electoral functions and counting concluded on May 13. However, BJP MP Tejaswi Surya and MLA Ashok raised objections to the consideration of 177 postal ballots, which had earlier been found to be flawed by election officials.

Amid late-night drama, BJP wins Jayanagar seat in Bengaluru – by 16 votes |  Elections News,The Indian Express

Credits – The Indian Express

As a result, election officials agreed to recount the votes, which was opposed by Congress leaders such as Ramanlinga Reddy and DK Shivakumar. This led to a protest outside the counting centre, with crowds chanting the names and slogans of their respective parties. Videos from the scene have gone viral.


“Even though Ms. Reddy, the Congress candidate from Jayanagar constituency, achieved a victory, on the pretext of recounting, the election officials have tried to twist the results. Opposing this and the move to let Mr. Ashok and Mr. Surya, who is not an agent, illegally enter the counting centre, we held a protest opposite the counting centre,” tweeted the KPCC chief DK Shivakumar.

Karnataka Elections: Tussle Breaks Out at Jayanagar Poll Amid Unending  Recounts

Credits – The Quint

The protest caused chaos outside the counting centre, with BJP workers raising slogans hailing the party’s victory. Congress workers eventually dispersed after hours of cheering.


By 1 am, the Election Commission of India (ECI) declared the final results, with Reddy losing by 16 votes: Reddy received 57,781 votes, while the BJP’s S. Raghu received 57,797 votes. Congress leaders have reportedly planned to challenge the results in court, claiming that they are “unjust.”


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


A video showing a baby with redness and cracks has gone viral, naming it ‘alien baby’ and ‘demon child’. The video claims that the...

National News

The CBI conducted investigations at 77 locations spanning 14 states, detaining ten suspects as part of a massive crackdown on online child sex abuse....


The much-awaited Khakee: The Bihar Chapter was released on Netflix on November 25 and since then Chandan Mahto, who is the main antagonist in...


Twenty days after its release, Rishabh Shetty’s ‘Kanatara’ continues to be the first choice for moviegoers. After a thundering response to the Kannada version,...