Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Namma Bengaluru

Karnataka Elections 2023: Here’s Where The Heavyweight Leaders Lie

Karnataka Image Source The Indian
Image Source The Indian Express

Today is significant for Karnataka. The 2023 Karnataka Assembly election is currently in the counting phase, and a victory is crucial for both the Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). A party needs to win 113 seats to gain a majority and stake its claim to forming a government in the state that held voting on Wednesday. There are 224 seats in the state.

The BJP is attempting to catch up with Congress, which has advanced to the halfway point.

In a few hours, the electoral future of some of the state’sstate’s well-known figures will be determined. How is the BJP’s Basavaraj Bommai doing in the Shiggaon seat as chief minister? What about K Siddaramaiah and DK Shivakumar, two influential members of Congress who will both be vying for the position of chief minister if their party wins? What lies ahead for HD Kumaraswamy of the Janata Dal (Secular)?

Basvaraj Bommai

Basavaraj Bommai, the state’sstate’s chief minister, is in charge of the Shiggaon seat in the Haveri district. He is up against Yasir Ahmed Khan Pathan of the Congress.


Image – Hindustan Times

Son of the late Somappa Rayappa Bommai, former chief minister of Karnataka, Bommai, age 63, is running for re-election in Shiggaon for a fourth term. In the BS Yediyurappa-led BJP government in 2019, he served as the state’sstate’s home minister before succeeding him as chief minister in 2021.

However, Basavaraj Bommai, the chief minister of Karnataka, conceded a loss in the state’s assembly election on Saturday, saying the Bharatiya Janata Party failed to make an impact while the Congress did.

K Siddaramaiah

Siddaramaiah, an influential member of Congress, is in charge of the Varuna district. The former chief minister, who is 75, has declared that this will be his final election.


Image Source: Republic World

In the closely monitored constituency, the BJP has paired the senior Congressman against V Somanna. Varuna has historically been a Congress stronghold. Yatindra Siddaramaiah, the son of Siddaramaiah, who ran for office in his father’sfather’s stead, presently holds the position. Siddaramaiah’s name will be up for the top position if Congress prevails.

DK Shivkumar

The head of the Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee, a seven-time MLA, oversees the Kanakapura district. The 60-year-old Vokkaliga leader, one of the wealthiest politicians in the state, is competing against R Ashoka of the BJP and Nagaraj of the JD(S). DK Shivakumar has made it evident that he wants to be the next chief minister.


Image Source: Zee News

Speaking with the media, he said, “I have struggled for the party, and all will support (me). I got the responsibility (of the KPCC chief) after Dinesh Gundu Rao quit following the by-poll losses (2019). I never slept after that and will not sleep. I have done what is necessary for the party… all will support (me), and I will provide a good government.”

HD Kumaraswamy

As the Congress leads the BJP in Karnataka, his JD(S) is expected to act as the deciding factor. Party chief HD Kumaraswamy, an MLA from the Channapatna seat, is in the lead now despite initially appearing in the rear during the counting.


Siddaramaiah with Deve Gowda
Image Source: Bangalore Mirror

Between Kumaraswamy and BJP candidate CP Yogeshwara, the race is close. Gangadhar S is the candidate put out by the Congress.

Jagadish Shettar

In the Hubbali Dharwad Central Assembly race in Karnataka, Congress candidate Jagadish Shettar is in last place. Ahead of the elections, the former chief minister joined the Congress after leaving the BJP.


Image Source: NDTV

Mahesh Tenginakai of the BJP and Siddalingesh Gowda Mahanthavadeyar of the JD(S) are the other contenders.

Priyank Kharge

According to early indications, the two-term Chittapur MLA Priyank Kharge appears to be in the lead in the assembly district. The Congress has put Mallikarjun Kharge’s son on the ballot for the crucial Kalaburgi district seat to complete a hat-trick.


Image Source: Times of India

Young BJP leader Manikanta Rathod, who is adamant about unseating the two-term minister, would battle for him. According to, Kharge had previously been issued a show-cause notice by the Election Commission for his remark labelling Prime Minister Narendra Modi a “nalayak.”

K Sudhakar

So far, the BJP’s situation in Chikkaballapur is not good. Trends show that Dr K Sudhakar, the BJP stalwart and Karnataka’sKarnataka’s health minister, is losing ground in the district.


Image Source: Deccan Herald

Syed Amanulla (IND), Sudhakar N (IND), Pradeep Eshwar (INC), Pilla Anjinappa (BSP), K P Bache Gowda (JDS), Dr M M Bhasha Nandi (AAP), Chandrashekar H C (IND), Anjinappa P (KRS), Altaf Ahmed (IND), and B K Prasad (PBI) are the candidates running from this area.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


A video showing a baby with redness and cracks has gone viral, naming it ‘alien baby’ and ‘demon child’. The video claims that the...

National News

The CBI conducted investigations at 77 locations spanning 14 states, detaining ten suspects as part of a massive crackdown on online child sex abuse....


The much-awaited Khakee: The Bihar Chapter was released on Netflix on November 25 and since then Chandan Mahto, who is the main antagonist in...


Twenty days after its release, Rishabh Shetty’s ‘Kanatara’ continues to be the first choice for moviegoers. After a thundering response to the Kannada version,...